How to Avoid a DUI During the Super Bowl in Colorado
Football season is a time for tailgating. Many fans are celebrating with friends, food, and drink, particularly during the Super Bowl. Tailgating and Super Bowl parties are an important part of American culture, but no party is worth a DUI arrest.
What Are the Risks of Drinking Before, During, or After a Game?
Alcohol is usually part of tailgating and often served at Super Bowl parties. If you are celebrating with friends or family, pay attention to how much you drink. More than a few could put you over the legal limit. If you get pulled over in a traffic stop, you may be asked to submit to field sobriety testing and a preliminary breath test. If you cannot perform the field tests to the officer’s satisfaction, or you blow over the limit, you may be facing DUI charges.
What Should You Do and Not Do After Having a Few Drinks?
e. Not only does the law impose harsh criminal penalties for DUI in Colorado but driving alcohol impaired can greatly increase your risk of a crash.
Why Is It Important to Follow Tailgating Rules at Venues in Colorado?
Tailgating is not allowed everywhere. Make sure you choose a lot or location where it is allowed. Also follow any rules or requests made by local law enforcement while tailgating. Ignoring the police could lead to a fine, or even an arrest and criminal charges.
What Are the Penalties for Drinking and Driving in Colorado?
In Colorado, as in most other states, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08%. (With a BAC of more than .05% but less than .08%, you are considered ability impaired.) With a BAC at .08% or above, you can be charged with DUI per se. Penalties for DUI can be severe in Colorado. For a first DUI conviction, they may include:
- 10 days to one year in jail
- Fines of $600 to $1,000
- License revocation for nine months
- Public service for 48 to 96 hours
- Ignition interlock device for eight months
In addition, under Colorado’s expressed consent law, all drivers are required to submit to chemical testing (breath, blood, saliva, and/or urine testing) if the police find probable cause to believe the driver has violated laws against driving under the influence. If you refuse to submit to this testing, your license can be revoked for one year for a first offense.
How Can a Colorado Springs DUI Lawyer Help If You Have Been Charged With DUI?
If you are facing DUI charges, having an experienced DUI defense lawyer protecting your rights gives you the best chance of obtaining a more favorable outcome. Your attorney can look for any flaws in the prosecution’s case against you and raise every legal defense that applies to get the charges reduced or dismissed. A DUI lawyer can advise and guide you throughout the criminal proceeding.
Why Choose Us?
Our founding attorney at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. has been voted Top Attorney in Colorado Springs by Colorado Springs Style Magazine for the past nine years in a row. He is the only attorney in the state with the ACS Forensic Lawyer-Scientist designation. Mr. Bussey is a former district attorney with more than two decades of criminal defense experience, who understands the tactics of the prosecution.
Call us today at (719) 475-2555 to schedule a free consultation. We can explain your options under the law.