Avoid a Drivers License Suspension After a DUI in Colorado Springs
Let Our Lawyers Defend You Against Driver's License Suspension
For most people, the ability to drive plays an important role in their everyday life. They use their car to go to work, school, the store, recreational activities, and elsewhere. If you have been charged with a DUI in Colorado Springs, you are at risk of losing your ability to drive and your ability to conveniently do the things that you need to do every day. We can help. However, you must act as soon as possible as the DMV has stringent deadlines.
DMV Points in Colorado Springs
Having points on your Colorado license can be daunting and it's often confusing as to what the laws are as well as what steps you can take to protect your driving privileges. Depending on the circumstances, an accumulation of points on your driver's license can lead to license suspension.
How Do Points Add Up?
The Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is notified by the court each time an individual is convicted of a traffic violation. Traffic violations may seem minor, but no one should ever underestimate them and it's important to fulfill the requirements and instructions on a ticket. A "conviction” for a traffic violation takes place when a motorist pleads guilty to a charge, pays a ticket, or accepts a plea bargain. If a motorist does not appear in court when they are supposed to, depending on the type of ticket, that driver will be considered convicted of the violation.
Below are point accumulations that may cause license suspension:
Adult Drivers (21-years-old and older)
- 12 points in any 12 consecutive months
- 18 points in any 24 consecutive months
Minor Driver (18-years-old through 20-years-old)
- 9 points in any 12 consecutive months
- 12 points in any 24 consecutive months
- 14 or more points between the ages of 18-21
Driver Under the Age of 18
- 6 points in 12 consecutive months
- 7 points prior to turning 18
DMV Point Hearing
Points on your license should not be taken lightly. If your driver's license is suspended due to excessive points, you will receive notice in the mail of a hearing. If you fail to appear at the hearing, you will not be allowed to drive for an entire year.
Reinstatement of Driving Privileges in Colorado Springs
If your driver's license is suspended based on an accumulation of DMV points on your license, a date in which you can drive again will be provided at a hearing or in a letter. A person is required to follow the reinstatement process before driving again, which includes submitting a complete Application for Reinstatement (DR-2870) and paying a $95 fee. An individual is considered to be driving under suspension if he or she doesn't follow the proper procedures.
According to 42-2-127 Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), DMV point suspensions are as follows:
- Leaving scene of an accident - 12 points
- Driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs - 12 points
- Driving while ability is impaired by alcohol - 8 points
- Speed contests - 12 points
- Eluding or attempting to elude a police officer - 12 points
- Reckless driving - 8 points
- Careless driving - 4 points
- Failure to yield right-of-way - 3 points
- Speeding over posted limit 5–9 m.p.h. - 1 point
- Speeding over posted limit 10–19 m.p.h. - 4 points
- Speeding over posted limit 20–39 m.p.h. - 6 points
- Speeding over posted limit 40–or more m.p.h. - 12 points
- Failure to stop for a school bus - 6 points
- Driving on wrong side of road - 4 points
- Failure to maintain or show proof of insurance - 4 points
- Improper passing - 4 points
- Failure to observe traffic sign or signal - 4 points
- Improper turn - 3 points
- Driving through safety zone - 3 points
- Driving in wrong lane or direction on one-way street - 3 points
- Failure to signal or improper signal - 2 points
- Failure to yield to emergency vehicle - 4 points
- Improper backing - 2 points
- Failure to dim or turn on lights - 2 points
- Operating an unsafe vehicle - 2 points
Driver's License Reinstatement in Colorado Springs
Has your driver's license been suspended or revoked due to a DUI conviction? Defenses may exist that could allow you to get it back. Under driver's license suspension or revocation, you have to face the stress of looking for alternate means of transportation, whether that means burdening another driver in your household to take you places or taking the bus. It is not convenient.
We will look for defenses to the revocation and suspension of your driver's license.
This process begins with investigation. We will look for options to challenge the initial revocation or suspension action and hearing. Carefully, we will scour your case, looking for any opportunity to achieve driver's license reinstatement.
While we may not always be able to achieve full driver's license reinstatement, we can help you look at other options, including driving permits that may allow you limited driving privileges so you can drive yourself to and from work or school. We will look for options to reduce the length of your suspension or revocation.
Protect Your Driving Record in Colorado Springs
While it may seem like you're up against the impossible, you have legal rights and options to defend your rights and driving privileges. With years of experience handling a wide range of traffic violations and criminal offenses, Timothy Bussey has the knowledge and skills to help you obtain a successful case outcome. Contact our Colorado Springs DUI drivers license suspension lawyers at (719) 475-2555 to find out more.
- What Can Happen If I’m Caught Driving Under License Suspension?
- What Does an “Express Consent License Revocation” Mean?
- Understanding the Colorado DMV’s Role in Drunk Driving Charges
- I Was Arrested for Drunk Driving in Colorado. How Do I Get My License Back?