Colorado Springs Hit and Run Defense Lawyers
Hit and run occurs when a driver leaves the scene of a crash that caused injury to any person or property damage. The term applies even to minor accidents causing minimal damage to property if the driver fails to remain on the scene to exchange contact and insurance information with the other driver. Severity of penalties for hit and run can depend on whether the crash caused property damage only, bodily injury, serious bodily injury, or death.
Hit and Run Case Results
- DUI and Hit-and-Run Allegations - No Conviction, No Jail, No Points, No Criminal Conviction
- Hit and Run Case - No Conviction, No Jail, No Points
If you are accused of hit and run in Colorado, the charges you are facing will depend on how much and what type of damage the accident caused. Leaving the scene of an accident is charged as a:
- Class 2 misdemeanor for an accident that caused property damage only: Penalties may include up to a year of jail time and a fine of up to $1,000.
- Class 1 misdemeanor for an accident that caused bodily injury: Punishment may include a jail term of up to 18 months and fines of up to $5,000.
- Class 5 felony for an accident that caused serious bodily injury: This crime carries penalties of up to three years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
- Class 3 felony for an accident that caused death of a person: At this level, hit and run is punishable by a prison sentence of up to 12 years and fines of up to $750,000.
Legal requirements of drivers who have been involved in a crash can depend in part on the circumstances.
- At a minimum, you are required to stop at the scene and exchange contact and insurance information with the other drivers involved.
- If someone has been injured in the collision, the law requires that you provide reasonable assistance, which may involve calling an ambulance or taking the injured person to a hospital or doctor.
- If you hit an unattended vehicle or other property that is damaged by the collision, you must stop at the scene and either locate and notify the owner of the vehicle or other property or leave a written notice, attached in a conspicuous spot, informing the property owner of your name and address and your vehicle’s registration number. You must also report the accident to the police and remain at the scene if requested.
As with any criminal charges in Colorado Springs, the burden of proof is on the prosecution in hit and run. Their case against you may be based on circumstantial evidence or unreliable eyewitness testimony or have other flaws. Legal defenses our attorneys can raise will depend on the specific circumstances in your case. Possible defenses include the following:
- You were wrongly accused – it was not you who hit the victim.
- No one was hurt and you left a note.
- You did not realize that anyone was injured, or property was damaged.
- You left the scene of the accident to contact police or to get help for an injured person.
- You were genuinely unaware of your actions.
At The Bussey Law Firm, P.C., we have achieved consistent success for our clients, both in and out of the courtroom. Founding attorney Timothy R. Bussey has been awarded membership in the Million Dollar Advocates Forum, named among the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers, and listed among Colorado Super Lawyers®.
Don’t face hit and run charges alone. Contact us at (719) 475-2555 to speak with a skilled and dedicated Colorado Springs hit and run defense lawyer.