Colorado Springs DUI Defense Lawyers
According to the NHTSA, 30% of traffic crash fatalities result from drunk driving, with an average of 10,500 people dying every year between 2011- 2020. If you drive under the influence of alcohol, you also risk arrest or injury.
A DUI on your record will impact your ability to be a rideshare driver. A DUI conviction can result in losing your driver’s license, a jail sentence, or expensive fines, too. By contacting experienced Colorado Springs drunk driving defense lawyers at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. at (719) 475-2555, you increase your chances of reducing or dismissing the DUI charges against you.
DUI in the state of Colorado is driving a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The Colorado law has a permissive window of intoxication requiring a blood alcohol content (BAC) below 0.08%. Still, you can face DUI charges even with a 0.08% BAC, in which case, the state will have to prove your incapability to drive safely. The state will get proof through video footage, eyewitness testimonies, and the field sobriety tests. Hence, if arrested for DUI, you will face two charges. The first is driving under alcohol influence, and the second, also called per se DUI, will allege that your BAC was higher than the 0.08 limit.
Depending on the circumstances during arrest, you can face different levels of DUI charges, including:
Misdemeanor DUI charges apply to non-fatal accident arrests. This implies that your car accident caused minor injury or property damage to the vehicle. If convicted of this crime, you risk hundreds to thousands of dollars in fines, probation of up to 2 years, revocation of your driver’s license, imprisonment of up to one year, suspension of license, or a restricted license if you install an ignition interlock device.
Felony DUIs are punishable by over one-year jail terms. A felony is a serious crime depending on the degree, requiring an attorney to defend your rights.
Drivers below 21 years old can face underage DUI. This will occur if your BAC is 0.02% to 0.05% higher. The state has a zero-tolerance policy on this and will not go further in proving that an underage DUI offender was impaired. The penalties for underage DUI include up to $2,000 dollars in fines, suspension of driver’s license, and a jail term if your BAC was over 0.08%.
Suspended License DUI
Driving with a suspended driver’s license is a serious crime that will attract a jail term or fine. As you seek to recover your license, you can consider a restricted or hardship driver’s license allowing you to drive to school or work.
Commercial Driver’s License DUI
You can face a commercial driver’s license DUI if your BAC is 0.04 or higher. Conviction of this crime will attract penalties such as a suspended CDL or permanent revocation of license. As a commercial driver, pleading guilty to DUI will attract costly consequences as you can become eligible to drive Uber.
You can survive a crash from drunk driving, but your passengers may get injured or die, and you will live with the consequences. The long-term punishments for DUI conviction include:
- Revocation or suspension of your driver’s license
- Confiscation of your license plate
- Vehicle impoundment
- Compulsory alcohol abuse treatment and rehabilitation programs
Getting an experienced Colorado Springs rideshare drunk driving defense attorney from The Bussey Law Firm, P.C., should be your next step if arrested for a DUI in the State of Colorado. Our team will assess your arrest circumstances to establish if the police upheld your rights in the process and the errors from the blood tests or breathalyzer. They will also evaluate the field sobriety tests' accuracy and negotiate a favorable deal for you. Call us today at (719) 475-2555 for a consultation.