Colorado Springs LSD Defense Attorneys
LSD, sometimes known as acid, tab, and zen, is a hallucinogenic drug that is highly illegal in the United States. Colorado courts consider it a serious offense to be found using, in possession of, or selling LSD. Those accused of LSD crimes will not only be facing harsh penalties, but may also have to reckon with the destruction of their career, reputation, and the lowered chance of employment.
We at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. have seen just how devastating drug crime charges can be for our clients. We believe that everyone is innocent until proven guilty, but, unfortunately, not everyone seems to agree with that sentiment these days. That is why a strong legal defense is so important. If you or a loved one have been accused of drug crimes, contact our firm at (719) 475-2555 and find out what an experienced Colorado Springs LSD defense attorney can do for your case.
LSD, otherwise known as lysergic acid diethylamide, is a Schedule I drug in the state of Colorado. The classification of drugs is called “schedules” and Schedule I is considered the highest. This means it does not have any medicinal use and is highly addictive. Drugs with such a high a classification, which includes PCP, heroin, and peyote, are closely monitored and controlled. Those found with them usually face heavy penalties.
LSD is a psychedelic drug that can cause extreme mood shifts, altered perceptions, and hallucinations. The drug itself is most often ingested, coming in liquid, tablet, and gelatin forms. While some believe that the drug can help provide spiritual experiences and connection, LSD can cause anxiety, panic attacks, delusions, and paranoia. One thing is for sure, whether you use LSD or not, an accusation and arrest for LSD crimes can land you in hot water.
As it is a Schedule I drug, Colorado courts take LSD use incredibly seriously. The penalties depend on what crime you have been accused of, however. For unlawful LSD use, you can expect to be facing:
- Up to 120 days in jail;
- A fine of up to $500; and/or
- Probation of up to 1 year
If it is your first charge of unlawful LSD use, you may be eligible for a drug education and treatment program. Upon successful completion of said program, your charges may be dismissed completely with no further penalties. A third charge of LSD usage, however, may result in a sentence of 180 days in jail, rather than 120.
If you are charged with possession of LSD, your penalties will be much harsher than if you were found simply using the drug. Not only will you be labeled a felon, which will mean you lose certain rights such as the right to vote and the right to own or use firearms, you will also be facing punishments such as:
- Between 6 and 12 months in jail; and/or
- A fine up to $100,000
There is the possibility you will not be labeled a felon, as LSD possession is considered a “wobbler.” Meaning, it can be a misdemeanor or a felony drug charge. If this is your first offense, you could potentially be charged with a misdemeanor, which comes with a penalty of:
- 180 days in jail;
- A fine of up to $1,000; and/or
- Probation of up to 2 years
However, first-time offenders are often offered the chance to complete a drug treatment program and may drop felony charges if you successfully complete it.
That is just for possession, however. If you are charged with LSD distribution, the court may not be as kind to you. Your sentencing will depend heavily on how much LSD you were allegedly selling.
- 14 grams or less: Between 2 and 4 years in prison and fines between $2,000 and $500,000
- Between 14 grams and 225 grams: Between 4 and 8 years in prison and fines between $3,000 and $750,000
- More than 225 grams: Between 8 and 32 years in prison and fines between $5,000 and $1 million
Along with a prison sentence and fines, you will also be labeled as a felon. Unlike with possession, it is unlikely the court will give you an option that will allow you to drop the felony charges, as distribution is not a wobbler. Selling LSD to a minor, or to someone two years younger than yourself if you are a minor, no matter the amount, will result in felony charges and penalties similar to if you had been found selling over 225 grams of LSD.
Thankfully, with an experienced Colorado Springs drug crime defense lawyer at your side, it is possible to defend against LSD crime charges. We at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. have many defense strategies at our disposal. Some of the more common defenses we have utilized include:
- The LSD was not yours
- You were not aware you had the LSD on your person
- You were aware you were in possession of pills, but were unaware they were LSD
- The LSD was seized unlawfully
- The officers who arrested you were acting unlawfully
Finding a good defense depends on the facts of your case. You need someone who can run a proper investigation and rally together expert witnesses to defend you. You need someone with years of experience as a criminal defense attorney. You need The Bussey Law Firm, P.C.
A drug crime arrest can shatter your life. Our country looks down on drug users and sellers, and whether you’re actually guilty may not matter to your neighbors. Rumors spread fast, which is why you need to contact a knowledgable Colorado Springs criminal defense attorney the moment you are arrested. Call The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. at (719) 475-2555 for some of the best legal representation in Colorado. The prosecution will begin working on their case the moment you are arrested. Do not allow them to have a head start. Contact us today.
- What You Need To Know About Synthetic Drugs
- Schedule I and II Drugs No Longer Carry Felony Charges in CO