Marijuana—What’s Legal in Colorado

It is legal for adults over the age of 21 to possess or grow small amounts of marijuana for their own personal use. But there are still many things you can’t do, such as selling marijuana without a license, consuming it in public, or having an open package of marijuana in your car. It’s important to be aware of the current marijuana laws and penalties to stay out of trouble in Colorado.

What’s Legal in Colorado

Marijuana—What’s Legal in ColoradoAdults over 21 can now legally purchase marijuana in Colorado, but marijuana and products containing THC must stay in Colorado. They can’t be transferred across state lines because marijuana is still a federally prohibited substance.

People in Colorado who are over 21 are allowed to keep up the two ounces of marijuana for personal use. But be sure to only use it on private property. Public consumption is not legal. You aren’t allowed to smoke or vape marijuana in parks, on federal lands, streets, restaurants, bars, public transportation, concert venues, or common areas in buildings.

Marijuana consumption is allowed in many hotels and private rentals in Colorado. Some hotels even publicize the fact that they are “420 friendly.” Be sure to check with hotel staff for their specific rules before smoking or vaping.

Strict Penalties for Marijuana Violations

The penalties for smoking or possessing a small amount of marijuana in Colorado are relatively minor. Public use is a misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $100 and having an open container in your car has a maximum fine of $115.

Although public perceptions about the drug have changed dramatically in recent years, the sale, transfer, and distribution of marijuana are felony offenses in many cases. The legal penalties for marijuana offenses are especially harsh when you have large quantities of the drug or minors are involved. Penalties include:

  • Possession of between 6 and 30 plants. Up to 2 years in jail and a maximum fine of $100,000
  • Possession of more than 30 plants. Up to 6 years in jail and a maximum fine of $500,000
  • Possession of more than 12 ounces. Up to 2 years in jail and a maximum fine of $100,000
  • Possession with intent to sell: up to 32 years in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000,000 depending on the amount
  • Possession of more than three ounces of hash. Up to 2 years in jail and a maximum fine of $100,000

The Right Lawyer Can Help

If you are charged with a marijuana-related offense in Colorado, you will want to seek the services of an experienced drug crimes defense lawyer . There are many ways to successfully fight drug charges. The following defenses are often used in drug cases:

  • You didn’t know the drugs were on your property
  • You had no physical control over the drugs
  • The police did not weigh the drugs correctly
  • You were mistaken for someone else
  • You were falsely accused due to a misunderstanding
  • Someone accused you because they wanted to hurt you
  • The drugs were obtained in an illegal search
  • You were entrapped by police into buying drugs
  • Your confession was coerced

Fight Drug Charges in Colorado Springs

Colorado Springs criminal defense lawyer Timothy Bussey and the experienced legal team at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. know how to provide a strong legal defense for marijuana-related charges and other drug offenses.

Contact The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. to learn more today by calling (719) 401-0585 and schedule a FREE and confidential consultation. We’re here to help.

Skip to content