Boating Under the Influence Defense Attorneys in Colorado Springs
While heading out on a lake or river is meant to be a lively time, operating a vessel while intoxicated can lead to criminal charges. Boating under the influence, like driving under the influence, is heavily punished in Colorado courts. You could be sent to jail, have to pay hefty fines, lose your right to operate a boat, and face additional penalties. Handling a BUI case requires an experienced defense attorney who is familiar with the law.
If you are facing drunk boating charges, we encourage you to contact a skilled Colorado Springs boating under the influence defense attorney at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. Our founding attorney, Timothy Bussey, is a former deputy district attorney and has decades of experience defending Colorado Springs residents in DUI cases. As a sustaining member of the National College for DUI Defense, he can explain your rights under the law and advocate for your best interests in a criminal trial. Boating under the influence charges require an in-depth and strong defense, and you should look no further than The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. Call us today at (719) 475-2555 for a free, confidential consultation.
Boating under the influence, or a BUI, follows a similar definition as a DUI. Under Colorado law, a boat operator can be charged with a BUI for operating a vessel with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, according to Colorado Revised Statutes § 33-13-108.1. A first-time offense is a misdemeanor crime, and these laws apply to a variety of vessels, including kayaks and canoes.
Colorado Springs police officers, as well as the United States Coast Guard and wildlife officers, can pull over your boat for a wide variety of reasons not related to alcohol use. An officer may be checking to see if you have the right safety equipment, but can still administer a field sobriety or breathalyzer test if they see open containers on your vessel.
A BUI is a misdemeanor and a first-time offender can face:
- Five days to one year in county jail;
- Up to $1,000 in fines; and/or
- Up to 96 hours of community service.
If you are convicted of a subsequent offense, you can face:
- 60 days to one year in county jail;
- Up to $1,5000 in fines; and/or
- Up to 120 hours of community service.
Unlike a DUI, a BUI will not lead to a suspension of your driving license, but you can have your right to operate a boat restricted for up to one year. You may also face additional penalties if you were involved in a boating accident, including if someone aboard your vessel was injured, or if a child was aboard, which could lead to a child endangerment charge.
The consequences of a BUI can be severe and long-lasting. Whether you are dealing with a BUI charge in which no one was hurt or facing multiple criminal charges due to reckless boating, you can trust the experienced Colorado Springs criminal defenses lawyers here at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. Our team has an in-depth understanding of Colorado’s DUI and BUI laws. Timothy Bussey is one of only two attorneys in Colorado with the ACS Forensic Lawyer-Scientist Designation. He is also certified to operate and maintain the Intoxilyzer 5000, is a certified NHTSA Field Sobriety Test Instructor, and is certified in Forensic Chromatography.
If you or someone you love has been charged with a BUI, call (719) 475-2555 for a free, confidential consultation.
- Boating Under the Influence in Colorado
- Avoid a Colorado Boating Under the Influence Charge This Summer
- Colorado Parks & Wildlife - Boating Under The Influence (BUI)
- United States Coast Guard