As a teenager, you may remember asking someone over 21 years of age to purchase alcohol on your behalf. Or in college, maybe you bought a six-pack for your 20-year-old friends. Or perhaps you have been to parties where adults allowed minors to consume alcoholic drinks.
We at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C., cannot stress this enough—if your child is arrested or contacted by police, call an experienced attorney immediately. The period right after arrest is vital for many reasons, including protecting your child from making harmful statements. The right attorney will know what to do to best protect your child while he or she is in the hands of the law.
In short, no and yes.
There are certain very specific situations in which there is an affirmative defense to a person under the age of 21 in Colorado drinking or possessing alcohol. This does not mean that the person is immune from prosecution, but he or she would have an affirmative defense at a trial. Outside of these situations, underage possession or consumption is a strict liability offense. C.R.S. 18-13-122(2)(b)(I).
Over the course of the past few decades, the college application process, and higher education generally has become increasingly more competitive. Colleges and universities have increased their screening of applicants to include criminal background checks on prospective students in making admission decisions. This increase in screening could mean that a childish mistake at a young age could have larger ramifications down the road. If your son or daughter is facing prosecution for any criminal offense, even what may seemingly be a minor offense for property damage, it would be prudent to first contact our team at The Bussey Law firm to discuss your child’s legal situation.
A 17-year-old boy has been arrested for burglary after allegedly breaking into a local Walgreens. The shoplifting incident occurred at the Walgreens at Dublin and Union boulevards in Colorado Springs. Officials say the boy was acting suspiciously about half a block away from where a burglar alarm was going off and they gave chase. The boy was arrested after allegedly discarding several stolen items as he ran. Police said he’d broken a glass door, entered the store, and took the items.
In 2014, the Colorado Department of Education registered over 6,000 allegations involving drugs, nearly 4,000 alleged assaults, and about 700 allegations of dangerous weapons being found in the state’s public schools. Colorado law enforcement are required to report allegations of crime that they investigate in schools – but according to some Colorado lawmakers, those reports are not occurring as frequently as they should.
That’s why a few lawmakers are attempting to strengthen reporting requirements for schools through new laws introduced in recent months, according to a news report from CBS 4. According to lawmakers who support the new legislation, the rules passed in 2012 to require reporting are weak because they are unfunded and because there is no single, uniform reporting system. The proposed bills aim to change both circumstances in order to improve both the frequency and the quality of reports.
For many parents, their introduction to Colorado’s juvenile justice system begins when they hear that their child is in “detention” – often, for no more than a youthful prank gone awry. As they seek out the help of an experienced Colorado Springs juvenile defense attorney, many parents wonder: How will it end? Will the court find that my child has broken the law? And what will happen then?