DUI Express Consent Actions in Colorado
If you are arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while ability impaired (DWAI) in Colorado, your driver’s license may be suspended even if you have not been convicted of any crime. There are several scenarios, known as “express consent” situations, in which this may occur.
Drivers in Colorado are presumed to have consented to a chemical test for alcohol, like a breath or blood test, when they accepted their Colorado driver’s license. If you refuse to take a chemical test when asked to do so by a police officer, your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked for at least 12 months.
If you took a breath or blood test and the test results stated your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was over 0.08 percent, and you were 21 years of age or older at the time, your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked for a period lasting from nine months to two years. You may also be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle if your BAC was over 0.17 percent or you have a prior conviction for an alcohol-related driving offense.
If you took a chemical test that found a measurable amount of alcohol and you were under 21, your license may be suspended or revoked for three to 12 months. You may be eligible for a probationary license after one month if certain factors apply to your case.
In any situation in which you are asked to take a chemical test for alcohol, consulting an experienced Colorado Springs DUI defense attorney as soon as possible will help you protect your rights and seek reinstatement of your driving privileges as soon as possible. To learn more, contact The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. today at (719) 475-2555 for a free and confidential consultation.