Colorado Springs Car Jacking Defense Lawyers
Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft
When you steal a vehicle by way of force or threat, it is popularly known as "car-jacking". In the state of Colorado however, it is also legally known as aggravated motor vehicle theft and carries with it the potential for life altering penalties.
If you, or a loved one is facing car-jacking charges, we recommend calling our office at your earliest convenience. The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. has assisted many individuals facing similar charges and we are dedicated to providing superior representation to those who need it most.
Don't wait another moment. State prosecutors move quickly when it comes to violent crimes and won't hesitate to request the maximum penalty. Call our office now and let us begin building a defense on your behalf. The number to dial is (719) 475-2555. Call today and schedule a free consultation with our Colorado Springs criminal defense team.
Consider these possible outcomes for carjacking and ask yourself whether you can afford not to hire a Colorado Springs criminal defense attorney:
- $20,000 vehicle or less - considered a class 4 felony that carries a potential 2 - 6 year sentence, a maximum $500,000 fine or both.
- $20,000 vehicle or more - considered a class 3 felony that carries a potential 4 - 12 year sentence, a maximum $750,000 fine or both.
Call The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. today for more information at (719) 475-2555
What is Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft?
While there are many terms to describe automobile theft in the state of Colorado, such as car-jacking, grand theft auto and aggravated motor vehicle theft, the state formally recognizes two degrees of car theft – first and second. Both categories entail hefty fines and jail time, but first-degree charges pose the greatest difficulty in both how they are handled and their potential outcome. In order for a vehicle theft to be considered a first-degree felony, one or more of the following must be true:
- You must have caused damage to the driver or passengers in an attempt to gain control of the vehicle;
- You must have caused damage to another individual while in possession of the stolen vehicle;
- You must have caused $500 worth of property damage in the process;
- You must have retained possession of the vehicle for over 24 hours;
- You must have committed an additional crimes with the car, outside of traffic violations
- And you must have removed the vehicle from the state of Colorado for more than 24 hours.
Your Rights, Your Future
If you are facing felony charges in the state of Colorado, especially involving the theft of a motor vehicle, you need a defense team that understand the courts and has worked on both sides of the aisle. The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. has the experience you need to build a winning defense. Contact our Colorado Springs carjacking defense attorneys and get the counsel you deserve.
Call now for legal help