El Paso County DUI Defense Attorneys
DUI/DWI in El Paso County
There are approximately 12,000 drivers arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) within El Paso County every year. Of those, 10 percent have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15 or higher. Seven percent of arrests involved a person between the ages of 16-21.
DUI/DWI in El Paso County is a major offense. The law in El Paso County criminalizes the operating of a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol to a level that is significantly more serious than most other counties. El Paso County also has some of the strictest laws relating to DUI/DWI.
Drunk driving penalties, including fines, license suspension, and even jail time, are severe. If you've been charged with DUI/DWI in El Paso County, it's important to work with a knowledgeable El Paso County criminal defense attorney from The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. to help you understand your options and rights when faced with this serious matter.
Definition of DUI in El Paso County
Driving Under the Influence, also known as Driving While Intoxicated, is defined by Texas law as operating a vehicle while impaired to any degree by alcohol or drugs. This includes prescription and over-the-counter drugs, including cold remedies and cough medicines that contain alcohol.
The law prohibits operating a vehicle while intoxicated, drinking while driving, and driving with an unlawful Blood Alcohol Content (BAC).
The maximum BAC in the state of Texas is .08. If you have a BAC of .09 or higher, you are driving with an unlawful BAC. This means that even if you stopped drinking before driving, you might be convicted of a DWI offense. It also means that if your BAC is at .08 and above, you are committing DWI even if no accident occurred.
Various Levels of DUI Charges
Misdemeanor DUIs typically result in up to 180 days in jail and fines of up to $1,000. Additional penalties include three to five years probation, DUI school, a six-month driver's license suspension, and installation of an ignition interlock device.
For a Felony offense, you would be looking at a minimum penalty of 180 days in jail and up to $10,000 in fines. Felony DUIs can lead to more severe penalties, including possible prison time.
As with Texas state, underage DUI is a misdemeanor offense. Fines are $250 to $1,000, and the maximum jail time is six months. As with El Paso County, no jail time may be imposed if agreed to by the prosecutors and the defendant's attorney.
Suspended License DUI
If you are driving on your suspended license when caught drinking, you may be punished by up to five years in jail and/or a fine of as much as $10,000. Also, your drunken state will mean that your suspension is extended by another five years.
Commercial Driver's License DUI
Similar to a license suspension for underage drivers, driving on your CDL when under the influence can result in up to a three-year CDL suspension. Convictions for commercial driver's license DUIs also come with penalties that include fines and jail time, usually one year or more.
Have the Bussey Law Firm, P.C. on Your Side
If you or someone you love is charged with a DUI in El Paso, Texas, it is best to hire an attorney immediately. The sooner you get in contact with a lawyer, the sooner you can begin to work towards protecting your rights and preparing your defense.
Our lawyers will fight for your rights and help ensure that any evidence that may be used against you is handled in a way that protects your future. You need the assistance of The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. to help you with your DUI case in El Paso, Texas. To learn more about how we can help call us today at (719) 475-2555.
Call now for legal help