Colorado Springs Distracted Driving Accident Lawyers
Drunk drivers used to be the biggest threat to other drivers in Colorado. Unfortunately, there is a new danger that poses an even greater risk to our state's roads and highways: distracted driving. Thanks to smartphones, tablets, and other mobile devices, distracted driving is becoming one of the leading causes of automobile accidents and fatalities.
To combat this growing problem, Colorado and other states are enacting laws that specifically address distracted driving. Even so, the number of collisions is still on the rise.
If you or a loved has been injured in an accident caused by a distracted driver, you're entitled to be fully compensated for your damages. To discuss your case and learn about your legal options, call one of the friendly and compassionate Colorado Springs car accident lawyers at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C., at (719) 475-2555.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, distracted driving was the primary cause of 9% of vehicle accidents involving a fatality in 2016. More alarming was a finding that distracted driving was to blame for over 500 pedestrians, bicyclists, and others killed in motor vehicle collisions.
It should come as no surprise that smartphone use while driving was highest among 15- to 29-year-old drivers. But in this day and age, pretty much everyone has a smartphone, and the temptation to use it while driving can be pretty high. Texting, talking on the phone, and using the phone's navigation system are especially common while driving.
But cell phones are not the only culprits of distracted driving. There are many other forms of distracted driving, such as:
- Consuming food or beverages
- Using a GPS device
- Fiddling with the radio or air conditioning
- Reading a map or other written material
- Applying makeup
- Talking with other passengers
- Dealing with children
Colorado, like most states, has a law that forbids driving while texting. The 2009 law also outlaws other behaviors such as driving while emailing or tweeting. However, talking on the phone is only prohibited for drivers under the age of 18. Violators can be fined $50 dollars for a first offense, which seems like a small amount for such a dangerous activity. On top of the state law, individual municipalities may have their own regulations as well.
In many cases, it can be challenging to prove that the driver who caused your accident was distracted if he or she is unwilling to admit to it. However, an experienced lawyer will know how to carefully investigate the circumstances surrounding the crash in order to build a successful case.
At The Bussey Law Firm, P.C., we can subpoena the driver's cell phone history, social media activities, and other digital and online records to look for evidence of distracted driving. Additionally, we'll look to track down eyewitness accounts from other drivers and passengers to corroborate your version of the wreck.
Driving while distracted puts the lives of everyone else on the road in danger. We believe that every driver deserves to get home safely to his or her loved ones. To learn more about how we can help you following an automobile accident, call us today at (719) 475-2555 to schedule a free consultation.
- Do Hands-Free Devices Really Improve Safety?
- Distracted Driving Continues to Put Drivers, Others at Risk
- Texting and Driving May Have Deadly Consequences
- Ending Distracted Driving is Everyone's Responsibility - National Safety Council
- Distracted Driving - CDC
- Facts + Statistics: Distracted driving | III