Home DUI Repeat Offenses

Colorado Springs Repeat DUI Offense Lawyer

Legal Representation for Repeat Drunk Driving Offenders

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) are serious offenses in Colorado. While a first offense may result in heavy fines, mandatory alcohol treatment, and attendance of Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, multiple offenders will face mandatory jail time and other harsh penalties.

If you or a family member is facing a second or subsequent DUI or DWAI charge, it is vital that you be represented by an experienced Colorado Springs criminal defense attorney. The legal team at the Colorado Springs offices of The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. has represented thousands of DUI and DWAI defendants.

Don't let a lapse in judgment ruin your future. Call us today for a free comprehensive consultation at (719) 475-2555.

DUI vs. DWAI

Colorado drunk driving laws can be confusing to anyone unfamiliar with them. A DWAI is a lesser included offense of DUI.

Per Colorado Revised Statute, "impaired" means a person's ability to safely operate a motor vehicle is affected to the "slightest degree" by alcohol, drugs, or both. See C.R.S. § 42-4-1301(1)(g). If the driver submitted to a chemical test and the result is a BAC greater than .05 but less than .08 then the driver will be charged with DWAI. The more serious offense of DUI is triggered when a driver is "substantially incapable" of safely operating a motor vehicle. See C.R.S. § 42-4-1301(1)(f). If a chemical test generates a BAC greater than .08 then the driver will be charged with DUI.

Penalties for Multiple DUI/DWAI Convictions

Penalties for a DWAI or DUI with one previous DUI or DWAI conviction include:

  • A mandatory minimum 10 days up to a year of jail time
  • Fines of $600 to $1,500
  • 48 to 120 hours of community service
  • Two to four years of probation
  • A suspended sentence of one year of jail

Penalties for a DWAI or DUI with two previous DUI and/or DWAI convictions include:

  • A mandatory minimum 60 days up to a year of jail time
  • Limited sentencing alternatives for the mandatory minimum jail sentence.
  • Fines of $600 to $1,500
  • 48 to 120 hours of community service
  • Two to four years of probation
  • A suspended sentence of one year of jail.

If a person has 3 or more prior convictions for DUI and/or DWAI, then the person will be charged with a felony level DUI. You can read more about Colorado's felony DUI law.

Multiple Drunk Driving Offenses in Colorado

According to studies done by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), one third of all drivers arrested for a DUI are repeat offenders. While the Colorado courts may be forgiving about a first DUI or DWAI conviction, they show no mercy to repeat offenders. For this reason, it is important to be represented by an attorney familiar with DUI and DWAI statutes.

As a former prosecutor, Colorado Springs DUI attorney Timothy Bussey and his legal team have an inside view of prosecution techniques and strategies to defend against them. We will challenge the evidence against you and attempt to get charges reduced or dropped all together. Both field sobriety test results and breathalyzer test results can be challenged, as well as urine and blood tests.

More than Money and Freedom are at Stake

If you are facing a repeated drunk driving charge, fines and jail time aren't the only consequences to be concerned about. A drunk driving conviction can seriously damage your reputation. It can prevent you from working in some jobs and acquiring certain licenses.

Don't take a repeat drunk driving charge lightly. Call the Colorado Springs DUI attorneys at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. at (719) 475-2555 immediately if you or a family member has been arrested. Our firm has proven legal strategies to defend your freedom, check book, and reputation.

Call now for legal help
(719) 475-2555

Facing criminal charges? Request a free 30-minute case evaluation to discuss your legal rights. Yes, Send My RequestFree Case Evaluation