Colorado Recently Changed the Waiting Period for License Reinstatement After Receiving a DUI

On January 1, 2023, the law regarding when you can reinstate your license after a DUI suspension changed in Colorado. Prior to January 1, 2023, a person whose license was revoked for a first-time DUI had to wait at least 30 days after the revocation was effective before they could reinstate their license. Colorado changed this law for offenses occurring on or after January 1, 2023. The current law now allows for early reinstatement as early as the first day the revocation is active.

Lawmakers and other interested parties saw a problem with the old waiting period. Lawmakers were concerned that people were driving anyway prior to the expiration of the thirty-day waiting period. Along with Mother’s Against Drunk Driving, the legislature determined that it was in the interest of public safety to allow early reinstatement rather than have people drive on a revoked license without any monitoring.

Colorado Recently Changed the Waiting Period for License Reinstatement After Receiving a DUIFor first-time offenders, the changes allow a person to reinstate their license on the same day the revocation is active if they:

  1. Complete an Application for Reinstatement with the Colorado DMV,
  2. Pay a reinstatement fee of $95.00 and a DUI restoration fee of $25.00,
  3. Provide an SR-22 and maintain it for 9 months, or three years in the event an accident was involved,
  4. Complete a certification, and
  5. Install and provide the necessary proof of the installation of an alcohol interlock device.

However, if a person’s BAC was measured to be 0.15 or higher, they are required to maintain the SR-22 for a minimum of three years and show proof of registration for a certified Level II alcohol class and treatment. Additionally, the interlock requirement increases to 24 months.

For a second or third alcohol driving offense, the period of time to have an interlock also increases to 24 months and has the same conditions as for a BAC of .150 or higher.

If the offender refused chemical testing, the interlock requirement is also 24 months, however the earliest a license can be reinstated is 60 days after the revocation and requires the same conditions as for a 2nd or 3rd offense.

This chart below outlines the various scenarios that come into play after a DUI charge and what is required for early reinstatement of a Colorado license.

 

Colorado License Early Reinstatement for Alcohol Offenses Occurring On or After January 1, 2023
       
Offense Waiting Period Reinstatement Requirements Interlock Duration
1st Offense with a BAC of .08 to .149 Upon revocation becoming active Application for Reinstatement, Pay Reinstatement Fees, Complete Certification, SR-22 Interlock installation and Proof of Installation 9 months with chance to terminate after 4 months
1st Offense with a BAC of .150 or higher Upon revocation becoming active Application for Reinstatement, Pay Reinstatement Fees, Complete Certification, Interlock installation and Proof of Installation, and Enrollment in a Level II Alcohol Class and Treatment 2 years
2nd Offense Upon revocation becoming active Application for Reinstatement, Pay Reinstatement Fees, Complete Certification, Interlock installation and Proof of Installation, and Enrollment in a Level II Alcohol Class and Treatment 2 years
3rd or Subsequent Offense Upon revocation becoming active Application for Reinstatement, Pay Reinstatement Fees, Complete Certification, Interlock installation and Proof of Installation, and Enrollment in a Level II Alcohol Class and Treatment 2 years
Refusal 2 Months Application for Reinstatement, Pay Reinstatement Fees, Complete Certification, Interlock installation and Proof of Installation, and Enrollment in a Level II Alcohol Class and Treatment 2 years

 

  • These requirements are according to the currently posted Colorado DMV website. Please review the DMV parameters closely for any changes or updates.
Skip to content