Penalties You Face for a Colorado Springs DUI Charge

Under Colorado law, a DUI is defined as driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol above the legal limit, thereby affecting your ability to safely operate your vehicle. Being found with a blood alcohol level of above .08 can mean serious charges and penalties for you if you are convicted of drunk driving. Being found guilty of a DUI carries with it the possible penalties of fines, jail time, loss of your license, an increase on your insurance, and a permanent mark on your criminal record. The following are the potential punishments you may face if you are found guilty of driving under the influence in Colorado:

Penalties You Face for a Colorado Springs DUI Charge1. First time convictions for a DUI come with up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $1000, your license suspended up to nine months, and up to 96 hours of community service.
2. If this is your second DUI conviction after being previously found guilty of a DUI charge, you face a mandatory minimum of between 10 days and one year in jail, fines ranging from $600-1,500, between 48-120 hours of community service, and a probation period spanning two to four years.
3. Multiple offenders with two DUI convictions will find the penalties much more severe: a mandatory of 60 days to one year in jail, fines ranging between $600-1,500, between 48 and 120 hours of community service, and probation spanning between two to four years.
4. Having three or more prior DUI convictions will elevate the charges to a felony level DUI which carries with it the possibility of facing up to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, and in certain circumstances, this can be increased to 12 years imprisonment, along with a 3 year period of parole, the installation of an ignition interlock device, and fines ranging from $2,000-500,000.

Additionally, administrative penalties may also be imposed which add between 4-12 points to your license. Having too many points on your record as a result of a DUI charge could result in the suspension of your license anywhere from nine months to two years. You may also find yourself obligated to pay fines from court costs or fees to reinstate your license. Moreover, a judge may call for the installation of an ignition interlock device which requires you as the driver to blow into the breathalyzer before being able to operate the vehicle.

Due to the serious penalties you could be facing if convicted, you’ll need the experienced DUI attorneys at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. to help you during these difficult times. Contact us and we’ll help you fight these charges. We can be reached at (719) 475-2555.